#PesachPrep T minus 1 Day: Here we are!

Here we are.

I think a review of the past month is in order. Go ahead, reread everything I’ve written this past month. I’ll wait.
Now: We devote so much attention to the Sedarim. That is how it should be, as I’ve pointed out already.
Having said that, I think we all need reminding that the rest of Pesach is also there, to be observed, celebrated, appreciated etc. It’s not just time to catch up on the sleep lost for two nights and more.

There is Shacharis on the first two days of Pesach. We start a bit later on those mornings. Many shuls do. That’s fine. But a Yom Tov Shacharis, Hallel, and Mussaf is still a beautiful thing. Let’s not allow a good Seder to get in the way of a great morning.

Sleeping is a form of Shabbos enjoyment. I would never take that away from you. And the first day of Pesach is on Shabbos. And God knows we would like to be well rested at the second Seder. But I hate to think of Moadim L’Simcha, Chagim U’zmanim l’sasson being killed with long super-naps that lead to a groggy fog.

And yes, those Daytime Seudos on the first two days of Yom Tov might be a touch more subdued, but they should not be rendered comatose. They are Simchas YomTov after all.

The gemara at the end of Masechta says when the Torah says that Moshe told the Jews about the”festivals of Hashem”, it means that he told them to learn the Halachos of each Yom Tov on that Yom Tov. Even when the halachos and Torah are no longer applicable, for example learning about the Seder or the Haggada after the Sedarim are over, they are still Pesach-themed and timely.

I hope you have found this month of posts helpful. If you have, you can let me know. If you have any ideas or thoughts about what I have written, I would love to hear from you.

I wish all my readers a Chag Kasher V’Sameyach.

Leave a Reply

